Midweek mental meanderings


I had supper last night with a friend of many years standing. We have been through most of our lives together, sharing the highs and lows, the joys and heartbreaks, the serious discussions and the laughs.

We were discussing this and that and she said “Nothing surprises me these days”, then she modified it to “almost nothing”. I looked at the young man passing by and almost collapsed with the giggles. He had shaved his head and left two little tufts high up on either side. Hilarious looking. She admitted as she said it, along came something to surprise her.

Synchronicity is such a wonderful thing!

We bemoaned the fact that at this age still we are studying. She is a professional psychologist, and they have a system of study and examination that ensures practicing professionals stay up to date (to a degree). She swears that she is learning more outside the framework they set for her than she does with their assigned stuff.

Ah well!

We reassured ourselves that as long as we felt we were learning enough then maybe we didn’t actually need a daily dose of Sudoku for our brains.

The first time I saw a Sudoku puzzle my brain froze. I tried and tried, but couldn’t do a thing with it.

Then I stopped and analysed the information I would require to answer each block.

And then I did what was obvious to me. I wrote a program to supply that information to me. Not to solve it, but to offer the options, changing as I entered my decisions into the blocks on the screen. Warning me about duplicates.

Obviously that makes the Sudoku puzzle no longer the brain exercise that it should be. But it did give my brain some exercise in writing the program.

My old belief that you can do it once manually, but after that it should have a level of automation to support you had kicked in, and there was nothing I could do to stop myself thinking that.

Now what a pity I can’t write myself a gym program, after all, if I have done it once, I can get some automation into it. But someone else has. I suspect it’s time I bought myself a Wii or similar.

13 thoughts on “Midweek mental meanderings

  1. Yes, well, you want to eat in that kind of suburb, you’re going to see all sorts.
    I still can’t get my head around Sudoku …
    Have a super day 🙂

  2. I have never finished a Suduku – always had a couple left at the end!

    Go for the Wii, Sidey. I only fairly recently came across it and it seems quite addictive besides being a good way to get some exercise. Wouldn’t mind it myself.

  3. I used to ace sudoku I dont know what happened and gym is another story all together. I hate the pain and little results.

  4. I don’t have the patience for Suduko, unless it’s to colour in the blank squares like I did for Lyndatjie once! Odd though, I can sit for hours working with budgets and split cost factors. Maybe I should give it another bash sometime,

  5. Loved this:

    We were discussing this and that and she said “Nothing surprises me these days”, then she modified it to “almost nothing”. I looked at the young man passing by and almost collapsed with the giggles. He had shaved his head and left two little tufts high up on either side. Hilarious looking.

    Synchronicity is such a wonderful thing!

Leave a Reply

