Tuesday, with a Monday flavour


Looking at a friend’s photograph on Facebook this morning made me think. He lives in New York, and it’s taken in a high up apartment somewhere. The view of the city beyond is amazing. I immediately thought “Wow I’d like to be there”. Then I realised the desire is for a short visit only. I have become less and less interested in city living with all of the people, and long more and more for the peace elsewhere.

Is this a sign of ageing?

Then I realised giving up city delights such as Cinema Nouveau, a variety of restaurants, a choice of bookshops would be really difficult. Out of the city maybe, but with trips in often enough to still enjoy the city things I love.

10 thoughts on “Tuesday, with a Monday flavour

  1. Definitely not a sign of ageing, Sidey, if you’re prepared to travel in and out of the city for enjoyment! I must say I miss living on a farm and the peace of having no ‘close’ neighbours. I would go back in the blink of an eye. But then I’ve never been one for theatre, shopping, etc.

  2. I don’t see it as a sign of aging. I think working in a busy city, fighting traffic in and out each day and hoards of people at lunchtimes does that to one. There are days that I long to live in a little log cabin in the middle of a forest, but I’d miss the hustle and bustle before too long.

  3. I don’t care for cities; never did. So it has less to do with my age than my sensabilities.

    Glad that you have the right balance in your life, Sidey.

Leave a Reply

