BurnOut


Today I had an odd meeting with a client. Away from their offices, and as this is a financial organisation this is most unusual. Actually I had a meeting with one of them many years ago (last century in fact) at her home but that was more personal advice for someone at the end of her tether. By the way she is still working there today, senior and respected so hopefully my advice was good.

Anyway, today’s person is a youngish man, married with children. Working really hard and studying. Guess what, he’s “burnt out”.

I often wonder just how organisations believe people will thrive on too little sleep, too little family time, too little personal time.

16 thoughts on “BurnOut

  1. “What is an ‘organization’?” comes to mind when I read this – a thoughtful provocative post. Made of people, who end up believing the culture/ethos around them is more, and more to be obeyed, than is the value given to each person. Emotional intelligence is often talked about but is still too seldom applied – each and every particular person matters, and should matter, within each and every organization. This view is not opposed to effectiveness, though it might be to the false god ‘efficiency’. Continue to be thoughtful and kind, we hear that in you.

    1. Elspeth Ibelieve we are more than just work machines.

      Unfortunately every company’s IT department is always asked to ‘cut and cut’ staff and those left just battle to stay afloat

      1. It has become part of the last 30 years mantra in all western companies “Efficiency = more done by fewer people”. At some point I hope this will be recognized as complete and utter rubbish, precisely because we are so much better than machines! We should be looking at more people/spare people in the work place and so what if we got less money we would gain immeasurably in teamwork and contact and probably make fewer mistakes all round too… I could go on and on about this, the efficiency mantra is illogical as well as inhumane.

  2. Feeling burnt out is awful and the consequences can be extremely hard to cope with. I felt burnt out for a couple of years but kept going. In the end I had to quit as I developed chronic fatigue syndrome.

      1. It is hard to change when feeling burnt out I found. The more burnt out I felt the more I felt I had to push myself to overcome it. Eventually I could push myself no more as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome made even getting out of bed a chore. Recovering from that took years.

  3. My son works in New York, also in the financial world, but he definitely works to live rather than living to work. I think it all depends on how you approach your job. His company respects his attitude, and his family life doesn’t suffer at all. He’s doing really well.

  4. Half of these ‘efficiency’ measures which place so much pressure are counter-productive, anyway. So often, what is gained on swings is more than lost on roundabouts. They seem to work on the micro scale, but are a dead loss on the macro one.

Leave a Reply

