Weekend Theme – LATE


Being at a dead loss as to the post to go with the theme, I started wandering around various sites offering me quotes about being late.

The first started me off rather well.

“How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before its afternoon. December is here before its June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon?”  ― Dr Seuss. I love his silly rhymes, so this was a good place to start.

Then

Life’s Tragedy is that we get old to soon and wise too late. Benjamin Franklin. Oh dear Ben, that’s rather depressing. Maybe I’ll give this one a skip.

Followed by

It is never too late to give up our prejudices. Henry David Thoreau. Ok this one is a lot more promising.

And then at last:

It’s never too late to have a happy childhood. Berkeley Breathed.

 I have no idea who this BB person is, but I do agree with them. You can create the happiness of childhood anytime, by just pretending.

So now I’m off to pretend it is a childhood summer, days and days to come of fun and games. Chocolate milk in bed while we read late night stories. Fresh mornings full of promise. People who love and cherish me. People who like to be my friend. Fun in the pool. Watching out for rainbows to follow the afternoon thunder storm. Chasing flying ants in the muddy street. Playing fetch with the dog.  Sitting with a purring cat on my lap.

That has left me with such a happy smile.

No it’s never too late.

13 thoughts on “Weekend Theme – LATE

  1. Good quotes, and a nice rose-tinted view of childhood. Actually, I remember it as a rather mixed-up period of massive miseries and great joys. Everything seems magnified when you are young.

  2. It left me with a happy smile as well… I like HDT, and BB (whoever s/he is), so filled with promise for a happier future, their words of wisdom. Thanks for this, Sidey.

Leave a Reply

