Doing it right


The pressure, the attempts to get me to “do it right.”

None of it worked.

The two pointy sticks, the dangly bit of knitting and that always tangling thread. The dangly thread that, with everyone else, seemed to magically intertwine with the dangling piece of knitting, growing ever longer.

For me, it was a source of wonder and frustration.

Sometimes it skipped its duty and left a stitch unattached to the stick, leaving a hole that would grow larger over time. Other times it seemed in a reproductive frame of mind, and where there had been only one loop on the previous attempt, there were now two, three, or alarmingly a whole bunch more.

My grandmother, my great aunt, my mother, my sister, the nuns, my friend’s mother. All wonderful women, all with that magic in their fingers. They tried, honestly they did. So did I. I love hand knitted jerseys. Imagining myself wearing my own creations would drag me into the torture again and again. All to no avail.

I can’t knit.

Then one afternoon, my mother decided to see if she could teach me to crochet. Amazingly, in no time I was churning out recognizable bits of crochet work. Scarves that became gnarled confusion when two needles were involved, became lacy delights. Blankets for babies, a little dress for a small girl. Jerseys.

And yet when anyone knowledgeable sees me crochet they comment that I am “not doing it right”. Apparently it looks as though I am left handed with my right hand.

It seems my brain is inside-out or something.

29 thoughts on “Doing it right

  1. *whispering* I can crochet, but don’t tell a soul!
    I will spend the whole of next week trying to get my head around, ‘I am left-handed with my right hand’! πŸ™‚

  2. Left-handed, right-handed, inside-out or outside-in, it doesn’t matter. The fact is you’re doing it, Sideview!
    I must say that your left-handed with your right hand comment brought back memories of when I was being taught to play table tennis. I could never get that technique right!

  3. I knitted a little bit when I was younger but soon lost interest and never touched any knitting again. With crocheting I never got very far. Maybe a few pot-holders was the limit of what I could do.

  4. I think it doesn’t matter what “looks” right for someone else. If you can crochet, you can crochet. I would love to see your creations. My granny also loved to crochet and taught me as well. I can knit but my fingers cramp up in spasms after a while. πŸ˜€

      1. Well, I could do that while reading the pattern but not anything else. If I had to read a book for instance, you would have gotten a horrified jersey from that. LOL! I’ve learned early in life that everyone have their own talents Sidey and I can honestly say, there are not many people that can write as beautifully as you can. So yeah, there might be people who are great knitters and can crochet well but I am sure that they can’t write as well as you can and I am also sure this is not the only talent you have…so there…no need to feel like that. You are unique and have your own special talents. πŸ˜€ *hugs*

  5. Next time tell them “I’m NOT trying to do it right. I’m doing it LEFT, I’m just using my right hand because I’m clever like that.” [I give you permission to roll your eyes as well — since they couldn’t figure that out in the first place!] Have you tried to knit left handed? That might click the same key in your brain? Love that you’ve found your own creative solution to a creative yarn.

  6. There is pleasure though in making one’s own shtufffs? Goes to, ‘if it makes you happy, then why not’. At least for me there is, which probably stems from growing up with the reality of ‘if you didn’t do it yourself you would not have it’. The thing about learning a skill, the early lesson learned is ‘how to improvise to solve a problem’.

    Am still stuck in that frame mind, heading towards thirty years as a designer, everyday ‘doing right it’, though really it is more like ‘making it work’.

    Whether it is knitting or crochet or whatever you do in life -the end result will be your trade mark, your signature, the result of your uniqueness. If you get stuck on doing it right, creativity (and all that goes along) always takes the back seat. If your brain works differently, churning out results different than what is expected, then I say ‘Good for You’.

    1. thank you. I think doing it right is what created the outcome, and doesn’t have to conform to someone’s idea of how to do it
      You are so right, if you made it yourself you appreciate it more

  7. I can’t sew or knit and also have two sisters and a mother with that magic in their fingers. I decided a while ago to admit defeat in that area and know there were other things I could do, instead. I feel instant stress at the sight of those kind of needles πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

