Asking for odd things


Every now and then you hear words coming out of your mouth and wonder “Did I really just say that?”  Hopefully that’s when you start to giggle over the fun of it, and not fight.

This morning I woke very early and had some time to browse and do some reading. Lo and behold, there was an article on the world’s ‘smallest apples’ and how they taste. Apparently very good. But the name “Tiddly Pommes” could be a little challenging at first. I can just see someone in the UK going into their local greengrocer’s and asking for Tiddly Pommes. I imagine they would be referred to the local pub.

In this country we have so many cultures and backgrounds that there are few in the green-grocers business who come from an English/British background, so I doubt I could have the same fun with it. Explaining that tiddly could nean drunk, or small and Pommes are apples, but pronounced in a shortened way could mean an English person would remove the fun. Here’s the link to the article

Some years ago I discovered a wonderful message on my desk, written in a bemused way by the person who had answered my phone. The message

“The CNA (bookshop) says they don’t have your cats pajymas”

Almost as soon as I finished reading it a few people came over. All wanting to know whay the cryptic message meant. Had the CNA started a section to trace sleepwear for felines?

The answer was disappointingly simple. I had enjoyed Thelwell’s book on cats (Magnificat) and discovered he had done another called The Cats Pajymas. I had asked at the shop if they had or could get it, and left my office number. Unfortunately it seemed to be out of print, so they contacted me to impart this information, but unfortunately (fortunately?) the message somehow ended up as written.

Some days you have no difficulty finding something to make you smile.

18 thoughts on “Asking for odd things

  1. Amusing 🙂

    Reminds me of my first day in a new job. The receptionist came in to work crying her eyes out, explaining that she’d had a massive row with her boyfriend and he’d thrown her elephant’s ears off the balcony.

    It was years before I learned that elephant ears is the name of a pot plant. I thought she’d had some massive sculpture or trophy in her flat 🙂

  2. Am pretty good at entertaining myself. Don’t think I make myself giggle, but am often questioned as to what it is am smiling about. “Oooooh nothing” is my usual response.

    It would be frightening if others could read my mind without me knowing. Oh the ‘shtufffs’ that goes on in there would cause concern to those who think they know me well Am probably not alone?

  3. ‘The more it snows (Tiddely pom), The more it goes (Tiddely pom), The more it goes (Tiddely pom), On Snowing. And nobody knows (Tiddely pom), How cold my toes (Tiddely pom), How cold my toes (Tiddely pom), Are growing.’
    At last, thanks to you, we know that Pooh was yearning for small apples to stave off the cold!

Leave a Reply

