Weekend Theme


Its Friday, the first cold one this year for me. Autumn is galloping in rather too fast for my liking. Time for the theme, and all I have are gloomy thoughts.

Then I received a link, and read this:

Go gentle into that good night.

ย It inspired and depressed me. I will never be as thoughtful and articulate as this man.

Then I read a favourite blogger is thinking of taking a break, depressed again.

More news of those fighting to make known the evils done by those who cover themselves and their deeds by declaring them official secrets in one way or another. Depressed again.

And the bees, disappearing so fast, the world could end for us, no bees, no food, we die! Depressed again.

So today I think the theme should be in tune with what the world is waving in my face

 

The end of the world

 

CReate your post using the theme (please don’t feel you also have to be depressed, there are many ways to look at this) and leave a comment with a link here so that others can go and read all the contributions.

42 thoughts on “Weekend Theme

  1. Aha, serious or comical, Sidey… we have such a wide range… But bees have been on my mind since I wrote about my little nectarine tree. Also we have some really little bees around – actually not little but slimmer. Maybe they’ve been on a diet,lol!

  2. Thanks so much for the link, sidey. I got lost for a while in reading it. The poetry at the end is too wonderful. It’s so easy to allow the bad news to depress us, but we have to tell ourselves that the goodness within us is bigger than all the evil and deceit in the world.

  3. End Of The World….kind of Ipso facto. I can not help but think there is worst things to worry about.

    Thanks for the Ebert link. It does more than make one think, it makes one feel.

      1. Your no slouch at evoking and tugging at strings. Writing is terrifying for me, so am always at awe at those who express themselves so well.

  4. No, Autumn can’t be with you! Winter is still here with us! What’s the world coming to??
    Setting to think about the theme, Sidey. I love Terry Pratchett’s take on this: โ€œSome humans would do anything to see if it was possible to do it. If you put a large switch in some cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying ‘End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH’, the paint wouldn’t even have time to dry.โ€

Leave a Reply

