A giggle, a chortle; why not?


Last night my sister and I went to a show. I had no idea what it was, but as she is moving away it was a great chance to spend a bit of time with her before she moves.

A one-man show. I’m not sure how to describe it. Sort of ‘Based on Gilbert and Sullivan’ with content changed to reflect the current idiocies that replicate the ones they poked fun at back then. An amazing vocal range, a face that becomes someone else at the twitch of a muscle. In all a great giggle. A great evening’s entertainment.

At one stage he requested 3 volunteers to play policemen. Where he found the 3 I’d just love to know. They were as funny as he was.

At the end when we were all cheering happily, I realised that in front of me was a rose he had dropped. So I did the obvious. I picked it up and flung it at him.  Not quite as satisfactory as a real rose. These fake things don’t have the weight and ballistic accuracy of the real thing. But it made the flight to him (just).

When the clapping had all died down, he started on his thanks, and in thanking the audience he asked where did you guys come from?  I gather he had been around the country, and some audiences had taken the show somewhat more seriously than we had.

I realised again, there is nothing like an evening being taken out of yourself and given permission to laugh and laugh. It really does renew ones spirits.

14 thoughts on “A giggle, a chortle; why not?

Leave a Reply

