Dealing with change


Listen to the wind, it will tell you all you need to know.

Someone told me that once, but I didn’t understand at the time.

Listen to the underside of the stories and rumours at work. Sift, evaluate and somewhere inside there are the clues you need to be ahead of the game.

Oh how easy it sounds, and sometimes how hard to achieve.

Someone caught on the hop by big changes elsewhere that impact on our project timelines and deliverables (and costs) either didn’t listen or wasn’t around for the hints. Now because I reacted positively, having thought it all through before the time, they want me to coach them.

How do you teach experience?

14 thoughts on “Dealing with change

  1. try listening? the thing about listening to someone is sometimes they just hear themselves properly for the first time – you are more of a catalyst than an agent – than they experience something new.
    what a good question though – enjoy the trying however it turns out

    1. A new role for them after a promotion, battling with some elements. And of course having a project manager old enough to be your mother adds a level of difficulty for them

      1. the Gibbs reflective cycle is the one I know best and is used in nursing where a nurse uses the cycle to explore a situation… what went well, what could I have done differently etc, either independently or with the support of a supervisor.

        there’s a fair bit out there on the net about reflection in practice, and having had a brief look this one seems to give a clear outline
        http://distributedresearch.net/wiki/index.php/Gibbs_reflective_Cycle

  2. Sidey, I have never learnt it. I have an almost Asperger’s inability to read the signals, lost in my own world. Yet I manage people quite well, for one reason: I have learnt to have someone talented at reading the signs nearby, and I make it clear that I will listen to what they have to say. I can never learn experience: but I can keep those who have that skill close.

Leave a Reply

