Wednesday and my rambling thoughts


Some random thoughts about life.

Yesterday I felt as though I’d been hit by an emotional sledgehammer. Within the space of half an hour, during a working session I was told 2 pieces of bad news. A colleague who has had malaria experienced very serious side effects of the treatment and had to have her legs amputated; and then came the message that a friend had died from the cancer she had been fighting for at least a decade.

I had to stay and finish the workshop, finalise the minutes from a meeting, then I could leave and go home.  I felt numb. How is it that many pieces of bad news can leave one so stricken that it is as though you can’t feel anything? Does everyone have a different limit beyond which you simply switch off? Is that what happens to survivors of major disasters, too much to handle so they just stop feeling?

Later I went for dinner. It all started cheerfully enough, but then I realised I shouldn’t be there. One person became drunk rather swiftly. And from a cheerful discussion proceeded to take over, ranting and raving with no coherent train of discussion. I have to confess I eventually became bored with the drunken tirade and called them out for making no sense. The reaction was as could have been predicted, attack! I escaped as soon as I could. Why do people seem to think that they become eloquent and intelligent when drunk? And then why do they take umbrage at someone who doesn’t believe that as well?

Today I received a description that made me laugh. I am apparently delightfully difficult – hehehe! That’s me! What sort of difficult are you?

22 thoughts on “Wednesday and my rambling thoughts

  1. What awful news, sidey. I feel so sorry for your friend who has lost both her legs. So sad to know your other friend lost her courageous battle with cancer. I also can’t stand people who become obnoxious when drunk. I would think hubby would call me exasperatingly difficult at times. Bless him for his patience. 😉

  2. What a dreadful day; my thoughts are with you and your friends.

    I have to say, I aspire to be ‘delightfully difficult’. That sounds like you challenge people, but with great charm. Can you be my mentor?

  3. Bless you. SO hard to get hit that way. I think you are right about people going through monumental tragedies, though. I believe we have some sort of mental safety switch that automatically shuts off feeling when we have had all we can take at the time. It always comes back on, but usually only in drips, as we allow it to come.

    Our sons have that sort of reaction whenever I get sick or have a surgery. They had to live through so much of the early lives with me either in the hospital or in bed at home, and many times near death, that when they hear that I am sick these days, they just get numb. They don’t ask about it or think about it if at all possible, and i don’t blame them one bit. Ashley always informs them of how things turned out, so they hear that way. I know they would probably not call about that specific thing, but not because they don’t care. It’s because they care a great deal, and it’s better not to think about some of the possible outcomes. I have noticed that recently they are relaxing a bit, because I have not had any serious setbacks in about 4 years. They are more willing to ask me how I feel. They are such great young men!

    Anyway, “Difficult,” modified or not, is not how I have been described. There is a word that many have used in reference to me, though:

    IMPOSSIBLE. But it is my hope that I am delightfully so! 😆

  4. Hi Sidey, sorry you had all that news. It blindsides one, doesn’t it? It seems so hard that life can throw this at our loved ones.

    What kind of difficult am I? Vociferously…

  5. The ‘delightfully’ is a real accolade! I am inclined to be anything but delightful when confronted with belligerent drunks. I also seek them out when sober, and tell them what I think of their conduct.
    Which makes me wonder – is the true nature coming out? I remember a delightful person – seemingly – that simply wanted to pick a fight and get physical when over the limit.
    I do sympathise for that left-right of bad news. Enough to put anyone on the canvas.
    One does develop scar tissue, though. Look at the majority of us when it comes to crime. One gets so hardened to it that it is taken almost causually when a friend or relation – or oneself – becomes the next victim.

    1. I think many let out the bits they secretly don’t approve of come out when the restraints are removed.

      I have a bunch of friends who become a bit loud, but so very delightful when rather drunk. They love each other more, laugh and sing together. I suspect its who they really are but they are shy to be like that all the time

Leave a Reply

