Time for a Christmas Story?


There I was, happily writing a Christmas Story (with a difference I thought) when the phone rang. I had earlier sent a message to a friend suggesting a movie later that afternoon. I assumed when she phoned she was phoning to discuss what we would see, where and when.

She sounded odd. Then I realised she was crying. A friend of hers, who I know a little, needed her. Her daughter had died in a motor accident the previous evening.

The sad details, one girl sufficiently unhurt to phone the injured girl’s mother. They were going to airlift her daughter to the best trauma hospital in the province as they suspected brain damage. As she scurried to get ready to drive the hour needed to get there, another call; this time the worst message any parent can receive. Her daughter had died on the scene, before they could take her to the hospital.

Today the close friends and family will gather. All distraught, as she was a lovely happy girl; confident enough in her appearance to play the clown sometimes. A treasure. Now never again to smile, hug her mum, tell her mother her plans, happiness’s and sadness’s.

Many of us have watched the family photos on Facebook.

The smiles, laughter.

Tears when a year and a half ago someone who had been like a father to her had died.

The enjoyment of her first ‘adult’ dance in her final school year.

Now we will no longer have glimpses into a happy young life. Her family will always only have the memories of someone lovely who never ages, but who also has no further life.

 

In turn I think of my aunt. Her mind wandering, no understanding of where she is and who are the people around her. Scared, angry often. Her death will be a blessed release.

Memories of my father’s death on the 11 December 1994 and how dreadful that Christmas had been. Christmas has been difficult ever since. The enjoyment of the great-grandchildren he never knew, contrasted with the remembrance of him and how he loved children, and would have so loved these two, always pulls at my heart.

I think I do not have a Christmas Story in me this year.

32 thoughts on “Time for a Christmas Story?

    1. Cindy, I just can’t believe it. Her ex-boyfriend (they remained good friends, just couldn’t live together) died a year and a half ago, and the whole family suppiorted him through his last months. They were all devastated by that. how Theresa and Jako will cope now I don’t know. not being a mother I can only imagine what she is going through.

    1. it is. we have a dreadful death rate on the roads at this time of year, because it is the combination of summer holidays and christmas, everyone rushes everywhere, and some drink and drive

  1. It’s terrible when someone so young dies in an accident. Such pain for the parents.
    You speak about your aunt. How her death will be a blessed relief. When my mother died on the 21st December 1994 I could actually see it as somewhat like a relief. She had not known the people around her anymore. You write you had a dreadful Christmas after your father’s death in 1994. In contrast I remember our Christmas in Berlin after my mother’s death as rather peaceful. We were surrounded by all the family in Berlin. Later on back in Australia I went through a rather difficult time. —
    May the peace of the Christmas Season touch your heart so you’ll be able to joyfully celebrate surrounded by all your loved ones.

    1. thanks Uta, I have those precious girls and their parents up here for Christmas, so will again feel the love in person. we are focusing on time together, not on presents

    1. it is a story of love. and it is so very sad for them all.

      I think death at christmas somehow seems even worse.
      And the mother and daughter shared a birthday (last week), She will never again look forward to her birthday

  2. Hard to imagine what the family is going through. Sadly, it will probably have the effect of putting a damper on this season for them from now on – I know that was the case with a cousin who got killed on a motorbike on the beach at Plet at Christmas many years ago.

  3. It is sad, and so very hard to bear. I still remember vividly the sadness of the first Christmas after my nearest (in age and philosophy) sister died in her mid thirties…

  4. They’re fortunate enough to have a strong support system in place; they’re going to need it.
    As for your Christmas post, maybe you casn write about all the things that you’re thankful for.
    If not, just try to wrest whatever joy you can from the holidays this year.

    1. Hook, it was supposed to be a STORY, and all the story got bashed out of me by the news. Maybe I’ll post late in the week if when I re-read the story I think someone may enjoy it,

  5. Death, the undiscovered country. When someone steps over the border there they are irretrievably lost and that most heart-rending of things, a vacuum, moves in.

    I know death is part of life: I know all the ‘make-it-better’ wisdom, but little can touch that awful feeling of nothingness. I can only send out love to you all as you battle this most final of tragedies.

    1. THanks Kate, I posted on facebook so she could read support even from people who have never met her. Apparently at about 3am she can’t sleep and gets online. She has found all of the messages comforting

  6. How really sad. May God bless this family and all families suffering for whatever reason. I think the death of a child is the saddest thing in the whole world, Sidey.

  7. As a child growing up every Christmas my mom would have us watch A Christmas story. We loved it and sometimes even watched it when it was not Christmas. I think it is funny that every year it is popular and stores are still selling its merchandise. The movie has become a Christmas classic. I have so many favorites it is hard to tell which one part I like best. I have conviced my husband to watch it with me this year.
    Happy Holidays and thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

