Weekend Theme


Friday morning, with wonderful Johannesburg rain falling down, wetting the world and making everything clean and cool and rather grey. I woke very early to the sounds of rain, always special in a country prone to periodic droughts.

I lay thinking about how every place I have lived had its own special ‘rain sounds’. As a child I lived in a home with a tin roof. Often lulled to sleep by the sounds of rain hitting the roof.  After we moved city and I moved on into living elsewhere for quite a while I was deprived of this special sound.

My first flat (apartment is too grand a word for a 1 room place with a bathroom) was on the top floor, and once again I became accustomed to the lovely rain sounds on the roof.

After that for many years I again lived where someone (in one case many someones) lived above me, and rain sounds were drips elsewhere, on the balcony, in the garden.

9 years ago I bought this house with a tin roof, and looked forward to hearing rain on the roof again. Sadly building techniques have moved on, and now a tin roof is very well insulated, so not only is heat kept out, but rain sounds don’t come through. But the house still has its own set of ‘rain-sounds’, each now as dear to me as in any other place I have lived.

However as time is flying on and I need to start working soon, its time to post the weekend theme. This weekend it’s

“The unexpected”

As usual, create your post using the theme, and leave a message here so others can follow the leads to read them all, and of course as usual the only rule is HAVE FUN WITH IT.

 

http://blogs.news24.com/Sarchasm/sideys-challenge-unexpected – the most powerful post

32 thoughts on “Weekend Theme

  1. cool – of course e-mail does appear, i’m just being VERY blonde

    yes – as a child sometimes i couldn’t sleep. and of course HAIL sounds too loud under tin.

  2. When the sun comes out after it has been raining I love the smell of the earth! We too had quite a bit of rain recently. The grass looks lush and green. We can’t keep the grass looking like this when it hasn’t been raining for weeks during hot summer months. Then we can never water the grass sufficently with water restrictions etc. It dries out very quickly in hot weather. To have enough rain during summer months is a blessing to us!

Leave a Reply

