It’s Wednesday if you count from the beginning of the work week, or Thursday – if you count down from the last working day of the week. Well so it is for some of us. For others, shops, restaurants etc., it’s definitely just Wednesday.

Our sense of date and time is (for most people) not constant. If you are dreading something, the time rushes on until the moment arrives. Yet if you are eagerly anticipating something, the time just drags, making it feel as though the moment will never come.

If you are under pressure for a deadline, time rushes on, threatening your success. If there is little to do, time lingers around,

dozing off now and then, spinning itself out.

So I wonder is time really a specific thing that can always be measured the same way. Maybe some days actually only have 20 hours while others have 29. Maybe some minutes have 400 seconds and others 3 seconds.

Aha! I hear you cry, but then how does one day have 20 hours for you and 32 for me? I’m still not sure about that

 aspect of my theory. I suspect it may have to do with time bending the rays of the sun, and the reflections from the moon. It can be very specific,

 honing in on one person, or embracing whole areas.

At least this is my theory, and I’m sticking to it. (For today at least – for however long today actually is)

15 thoughts on “

  1. This post reminded me of this song:

    If I could save time in a bottle
    The first thing that I’d like to do
    Is to save every day
    Till Eternity passes away
    Just to spend them with you

    If I could make days last forever
    If words could make wishes come true
    I’d save every day like a treasure and then,
    Again, I would spend them with you
    Time in a Bottle, Greatest Love Songs, by Jim Croce

    But there never seems to be enough time
    To do the things you want to do
    Once you find them
    I’ve looked around enough to know
    That you’re the one I want to go
    Through time with

  2. I was one day, maybe today, thought about time scamper by. Others, maybe yesterday, will be gone slug slow.

    Language, in connection with time is such a devious harlot. Neither one thing nor the other, infinitely.

  3. So i just asked Phil, is the speed of time constant? And he said no, it depended very much on energy. And then he talked on and it might have been white radio noise for all I got out of it 😀

    I think Einstein would love your idea. Different people travelling at different speeds of time. Problem is, as you say above, how and when do we all converge?

    There are 24 hours in every blogging day and somehow, although we never see or meet each other, we all interact within the time frame.

    Ho hum.

Leave a Reply

