Christmas Music


As a child I always enjoyed one special thing about my birthday. We decorated the tree! When I was older we also sent out Christmas cards. The present making (we children had to be creative when pocket money was somewhat limited). Back then, other than the traditional Christmas Carols, there was no ‘Christmas Music’ except maybe Bing Crosby’s  “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas” which didn’t really do the right things for kids leaping into the pool and getting sun-burnt.

However this year I get to go to a Christmas Carols concert on my birthday, promises of old favourites and some new ones. I love some of the lesser-known carols. The Holly and the Ivy being one that always gives me goose-bumps. 

Memories of the first time I consciously head the Hallelujah Chorus; as a smallish child taken to a concert at the Johannesburg City Hall. Falling asleep in my seat, and being roused to stand, the goosebumps starting in my drowsy state as the music swelled and took over my consciousness. To this day I still react like that.

Recently I gave in and bought the Boney-M CD, never to be loaded on the Ipod in case it sneaks out during the year.  Thinking of the songs associated with Christmas took me back to the Mel Gibson and Danny Glover partnership in those cop movies, the first set at Christmas. What was that song from the movie?

Now I don’t quite have an earworm, I have an ear-vacuum.

 

About SidevieW

I write because it seems I have to View all posts by SidevieW

17 responses to “Christmas Music

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

